News | Noticias » 2012 Newsletters » GBT Driver Safety Awards

Bus Driver Safety Awards

GBT Newsletter | February 24, 2012

GBT annually recognizes drivers with impeccable safety records.

GBT Bus Drivers Win Safety Awards

Just some of the award winners at a ceremony in the GBT Bus Terminal.


Eighteen GBT drivers were honored with Safety Awards for 2011. These drivers have performed at the highest safety levels, without an accident for three or more years. An additional 30 drivers have performed without an accident for over one or two years. The full list of award winners is below.


Safety Award Recipients

years = years without incident.

Jean Tucker - 18 years

Michael Banks - 17 years

Oscar Mera - 13 years

Dean Farmassony - 12 years

Abraham Kagabo - 7 years

Robert Lopez - 5 years

Jean Page - 5 years

Orlando Abrams - 4 years

Delroy Bennett - 4 years

Barbara Canales - 4 years

Jose Cumpa - 4 years

Lonnie Hodges - 4 years

George Cole - 3 years

Gerri Dantzler - 3 years

Carmelo Diaz - 3 years

Cynthia Palmer - 3 years

Terry Spell - 3 years

John Thomas - 3 years


Kudos to these great drivers!



Bus is one of the Safest Ways to Travel



Riding the bus is one of the safest ways to travel in the US, far exceeding the safety of travelling by cars and SUVs.

Follow us:

Follow Us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on flickr


Rider Alerts

Sep 17, 2017

Tropical Storm Watch – Jose | GBT Alert# 1

This is the time of year when we review our emergency procedures and plans to be sure we are able to keep our services running during severe weather and, if there is an interruption, to resume service as soon as possible following a storm. Part of our preparations include letting our riders and communities know where to go for information about service changes or cancellations during storms of any kind.

Plan ahead, stay safe and keep in touch.


More Info>>



Advertencia de tormenta tropical “José” | GBT Alerta No. 1

En esta época del año revisamos nuestros procedimientos y planes de emergencia para asegurarnos de que podemos mantener los servicios durante tiempo inclemente y, si hubiera interrupciones, de que podemos resumir el servicio tan pronto como nos sea posible luego de una tormenta. Como parte de nuestros preparativos comunicamos a los usuarios y a las comunidades dónde encontrar información acerca de cambios o cancelaciones en el servicio durante las tormentas de cualquier tipo.

Planifique con tiempo, cuídese y manténgase en contacto.


Más información>>

More info »

Newsletter Sign Up

Driver Shout Out!

"I would like to end this year by recognizing a few of your exceptional drivers. There are many excellent drivers, I only know a few by name. The following drivers not only conduct their day in a professional manner but are personable, compassionate, courteous. They would never leave a person behind, do an overall tremendous job and go way beyond the call.


#19 route - Melvin Smart
#23 route - Kevin Eppes
#23 route - Shelby Cleveland
#15 route - James Martin
#15 route - Anna Serrano
#19 route - Sandra Diaz


You all deserve a round of applause!!!!"

—Debora Giblin, Rider from Shelton, CT


Is there a driver you'd like to recognize?

Just let us know! Fill out this quick form.