News | Noticias » 2012 Newsletters » CT Roadeo 2012

First Place in CT Roadeo

On Sunday, June 10, GBT participated in the annual CT Statewide Transit Roadeo, an event  designed to promote driver safety. The Roadeo is an annual bus driver competition sponsored by the Connecticut Department of Transportation and the Connecticut Association for Community Transportation.


The Connecticut Roadeo is an opportunity for the best bus drivers from across the state to showcase their driving abilities. "This is what we do, we work to be the best of the best, it's an honor to be able to participate in the Roadeo," said GBT driver Dean Farmassony. Drivers volunteer to compete and must have an excellent work record, stellar attendance and a safe driving record free of preventable accidents. Winners of the Roadeo will compete in the American Public Transportation Association's Annual International Transit Roadeo, scheduled for May 2-7, 2013, in Indianapolis, IN.


GBT driver Oscar Mera took First Place in the 35' bus category with the highest overall score of all participating drivers; GBT has won this award, the 35' Transit Coach System Award, nine times in the last ten years. GBT's Jacqueline Mercado took Third Place in the Minibus competition. Thank you and congratulations to GBT's great drivers!

GBT Driver Oscar Mera

GBT Driver, Oscar Mera, recieves First Place award from Mary Tomolonius Executive Director Connecticut Association for Community Transportation (CACT).

GBT Driver Jacqueline Mercado

GBT Driver, Jacqueline Mercado, recieves Third Place award in the Minibus competition from (L) Michael Sanders, Transit and Ridesharing Administrator - Connecticut Department of Transportation and (R) Mary Tomolonius Executive Director Connecticut Association for Community Transportation (CACT).


The following GBT drivers participated in this year's event:

James Gantt Jr.
Marvester Robinson
Cliff Perkins
Dean Farmassony
Oscar Mera
Robert Lopez
Jackie Mercado


There were many fine competitors who represented 14 transit districts from across the state, including (in alphabetical order):

CT Transit Hartford
CT Transit New Haven
CT Transit Waterbury (Northeast Transportation)
Greater Bridgeport Transit
Greater Hartford Transit District
Greater New Haven Transit District
Estuary Transit
Milford TransitDistrict
Middletown Area Transit
Norwalk Transit District
Valley Transit District
Veolia Transportation
Windham Region Transit District



GBT participants in the image at the top of this page are (L-R): Oscar Mera, George Cole, Marvester Robinson, Betty Peterson-Burden, Clifford Perkins, Willie Correa, Glenwood Nelson, Jacqueline Mercado, James Gantt


Follow us:

Follow Us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on flickr


Rider Alerts

May 3, 2019

No Alerts | No Alertas

More info »